Do You Know the Difference Between a Visa and a Passport?

 Do You Know the Difference Between a Visa and a Passport?

A passport and a visa are both travel documents, but a passport is issued by your home nation, whilst a visa is granted by the country you wish to visit. Other distinctions include:

A passport is a travel document that identifies you, but a visa is a document that is connected to your passport and shows you have authorization to visit a certain nation.

A passport is valid for around 10 years, but a visa is only valid for a few months.

What Is the Difference Between a Visa and a Permit to Reside?

The phrases “visa” and “residency permit” are often confused. However, there is a significant difference between the two:

To travel to and visit a foreign country, whether for tourism, business, job, studies, or other reasons, you will need a visa, which is usually only valid for a set period of time.

To stay in a foreign nation for a lengthy period of time, you’ll need a residency permit.

When you arrive in your target country, you may first acquire a visa and then convert it to a residence permit. When you apply for a long-stay visa, you may be immediately granted a residence permit (for work, study, family reunion, etc.).

What Are Electronic Travel Authorizations and How Do They Work?

Electronic travel authorizations are required for nations whose citizens do not need a visa to enter a certain country. They are simply purchased for a minimal charge online and are valid for a long time. Electronic travel authorizations may take the form of the following:

eTA is an acronym that stands for “electric (Canada). The Canadian eTA costs CAD 7 and takes just a few minutes to process. It has a five-year validity period and a six-month stay limit for each trip.

PS (Australia). The Australian ETA costs AUC 20 and takes just a few minutes to process. It is valid for a year and allows you to go to Australia many times during that time.

ESTA is an acronym for “United States”. The ESTAA in the United States costs $14 and is authorized in a matter of minutes. It is valid for up to two years and permits you to visit the United States numerous times, with a maximum stay of three months on each trip.

ETIAS, ETIAS, ETIAS (European Union). Starting in the year 2022, the European Union’s ETIAS will be required. It will cost €7 and have a three-year validity period. During the validity term, it will allow for repeated visits of up to three months each.

Electronic travel authorizations are not visas; instead, they are used to keep track of who enters and exits a nation. As a result, it is unlikely that an application will be turned down.

Joint Visa Programs

Some nations that are members of a regional organization provide a single visa for all members of the organization. The following are some of the most well-known common visas:

The Schengen Visa is a kind of travel document issued by the European Union. The Schengen visa is a common entrance permit that allows you to travel to any of the 26 European nations that make up the Schengen Area.

The Central American Single Visa is a visa that is valid for all of Central America. Guatemala, El Salvador, Honduras, and Nicaragua have reached an agreement on visas. Citizens of these nations are not required to get a visa to travel between member states. Tourists may also visit all of the member nations on the basis of a single visa.

Gulf Cooperation Council (GCC).The United Arab Emirates, Oman, Qatar, Bahrain, Saudi Arabia, and Kuwait are among the nations that have signed this pact. Citizens of these nations may travel visa-free inside their borders, but visa-free travel is not always possible owing to political tensions.

The Pacific Alliance is a group of countries in the Pacific Ocean. Chile, Colombia, Mexico, and Peru are members of the Pacific Alliance, which allows its people to travel visa-free. Tourists may also travel across the EU with only one visa.

The Univisa KAZA. You may travel between Zambia and Zimbabwe for 30 days under the KAZA Univisa agreement.

The CARICOM Visa is a kind of visa that is issued by the Caribbean Community. The CARICOM Agreement includes 15 Caribbean nations that enable their residents to travel without a visa. It also gives its citizens a passport that can be used for both domestic and international travel.

(ECOWAS) (ECOWAS) (ECOWAS)This agreement covers 15 countries in West Africa, letting people move freely between them.

Mercosur is a South American trade bloc. The Mercosur Agreement, which is made up of four full member nations (Argentina, Brazil, Paraguay, and Uruguay), as well as other associated countries, permits its residents to travel visa-free. Each country, however, has its own visa rules for foreign tourists.

The Visa Scheme Between the United Kingdom and Ireland (BIVS Visa) The BIVS is a visa program between the UK and Ireland that allows foreigners to travel between the two countries with only one visa. If you hold a valid visa for the United Kingdom, for example, you may visit Ireland with the same permission.

In addition to collaborative visa programs, you may travel visa-free to numerous countries with a single visa granted by another nation. If you have a valid US visa, for example, you may go to Costa Rica, Mexico, the British Virgin Islands, and a number of other nations.

What Is an Exit Visa and How Do I Get One?

An exit visa is a travel authorization that allows you to depart a specified nation. Exit visas are no longer enforced in most nations since they are regarded as an obsolete practice bordering on a violation of human rights.

The following is a list of nations that need some kind of departure visa:





North Korea is a country in North Korea.



Saudi Arabia is a country in the Middle East.


The People’s Republic of China (PRC) is a country in Asia.

The Emirates of the United Arab Emirates

Because of your nationality, you may need an exit visa to leave the country, so check with an embassy or immigration consultants in Ludhiana before you leave.


Related post